Question of the week: Carrying cell phone on runs

It’s always a good idea to carry your cell phone just in case of emergency (although we hope you aren’t texting and running :-). 

A PGRC member is looking for an armband holder for her Blackberry, and so asks:  How do you carry your phone?  — arm band, pocket, waistpack? 

We discussed running accessories last year and there were some good product suggestions, but does anyone have anything new to add?  Please add your comments and help out your fellow runners.

4 Responses

  1. Belkin Dualfit Armband for iPhone. Comfy and has a pouch to hook your headphones into. Love it.

  2. “It’s always a good idea to carry your cell phone just in case of emergency.”

    Really? (that’s a serious question).

    I don’t think that I’ve ever run w/ my cell phone. I’ve considered my runs an opportunity for me to escape from the tether of that technology.

  3. Serafin, as someone just seriously injured while working out I would definitely encourage you ALL to a) carry a cell phone and b) carry your ID or wear a Road ID. Please please do this! You never know what may happen when you’re out and about and you may need your phone to call for help. It’s not to be tethered but for safety.

    As for what to use to carry it, I like the SPIbelt: http://www.spibelt.com. It’s stretchy and you can cram a lot in there.

    Kim

  4. When I first started running, I used my iphone to track all of my stats. I’ve tried armbands and belts. Ultimately I just got shorts with zip pockets, worked perfectly for me. I don’t mind running with my phone in my pocket but I know others who don’t like it at all.

    Since getting my Garmin, I don’t run with a cell phone as much anymore, but I think it’s good idea to carry one in case of emergency because you never know what’s going to happen.

Leave a Reply

