Tuesday Sept 15- track workout

Starting this week, we will be meeting at the Prince Georges Community College Track, in Largo, MD, at 7pm.  Here’s the suggested workout:   4-6 x 800m at 5K pace with 400m jogging recovery.  Remember to warmup/cooldown by jogging slowly for at least a mile.   

I’d like to suggest that if you are coming to the track, please let others know (and perhaps state your 5K pace or intended workout) by adding a comment to this post.  Of course, you can just show up too.

6 Responses

  1. I’ll put in a couple of qualifiers:

    If you’re doing less than, say, 25 miles per week, you should probably reduce the number of repetitions. At 10 miles per week, maybe more like 2-3 of them.

    The recovery period should be equal to the running period. This may mean that you walk the recovery lap. (The distance of the recovery doesn’t matter much, the time is the important part. It’s just easier to start at the same place — do a 400 m recovery.)

  2. Excellent qualifiers Bob. Thanks– and hope you can come to workout tomorrow.

  3. Thanks. I like the workout, but my current training level makes it a bad idea, even for 2-3.

    My current ‘speed’ work is to run/walk a mile kind of hard on the running part. Last week, I only did 2 walk stretches. This week, I’m aiming for only 1 walk break. That, plus easy jog/walk for another 2 miles is the total workout. For my current training level, that’s a hard enough workout.

    I do remember the days when I’d do 6×800 at 5k pace (even did it once at 3k pace!) with 400 m jog recovery. Tough workout. But excellent for the 5k racing. I’ll get back there, and see you all at the track.

  4. I’d love to come but my thighs are severely chafed from the Parks half marathon on Sunday. I forgot to put on some glide and my skort shorts dug into my thighs. It is NOT pretty. I’m hoping to be back to running in a few days.

  5. I plan to be there, and plan to put in about 4 of the 800 m repeats. I’ll just finish them a little slower than Cindy.
    JohnG

  6. Since John has offered to give me a ride to the track, I’ll be there too. I probably won’t be keeping up with John on the repeats since my quads are trashed from Saturday’s trail race, but ideally I’d be doing the repeats in 4:00 per 800m.

Leave a Reply

