Watch Me Pull a Foot Out of My Mouth!

It’s been quite some time since my last post.  In my absence, I guess you can say I’ve been doing some soul searching.  And in my search, I’ve discovered I haven’t been completely honest with myself.  First off, I love food.  Part of the reason I find myself running in the first place is to balance my love of food with my waist line.  I love foods good and bad.  So when I my so called “good” eating habits came under scrutiny, after comments from my last post (see “The Heavy”) suggested maybe I wasn’t “aware” of the amount of food I was eating, I was a little bothered to say the least.  Not because it was way off base. Probably because deep down I knew it was true!

From the beginning,  I pooh poohed the notion of keeping a food journal.  Food journaling was for emotional eaters and people with no self control or will power! Certainly not me!!!   And I mean who has that kind of time?  I can barely remember to balance my checkbook let alone take the time to write down ever morsel of food that happened to find its way into my mouth.  So me keeping a food journal was simply out of the question!

Well two months and zero pounds lost later, PERHAPS ( and I say this with the very distinct taste of shoe leather in my mouth) I was a bit hasty in pooh poohing the merits of food journaling.  Apparently I AM an emotional eater (loving to eat is an emotion, right? ).  And if you don’t attempt to put into practice self control or will power, isn’t that kind of like not having any?  And do I really want to own up to the nutritionally compromised crap that makes its way into my diet on a daily basis?  Of course not. But I wouldn’t be doing my job if I didn’t put myself under a microscope publicly so you don’t have to!

So here’s what I’m thinking:

With about another two months of training left, and all of you all’s love and support (insert rapid eyelash batting here), I’m going to give this food journal thing a whirl as well as an intense focus on the nutrition portion of my training. (Yes, I know I should have been doing that in the beginning, but as you all know, a hard head makes a soft, in this case, belly!)  Beginning Monday, July 6  I will begin keeping a food journal.  At the end of each week I will blog about my findings, particularly, the obstacles, and God willing, the weight loss.  So I’m looking forward to reading all of your comments and your advice.

So here goes nothing.  Wish me luck!

2 Responses

  1. Good luck!

    I’ll mention something a friend who was quitting smoking discovered. On the one hand, he was pretty sure that he wasn’t smoking much at all by then. A couple of cigarettes per day. On the other hand, he was buying much more than a pack a week. He finally realized where most of his smoking was — it was the magic self-lighting and -launching cigarettes that were by his comfy chair. He’d be relaxing, watching TV, and without a bit of thought from him, he’d find new cigarette butts around him.

  2. Good luck. I may start journaling again right along with you. I have a few soft parts that I’d like to rid myself of and I know changing my diet is the missing link. Journaling not only helps you keep track of what you eat, but it also deters you from eating junk because you don’t want to have to write it down. :o)

Leave a Reply

